As the world starts to re-emerge and awaken, the summer of 2021 is boding to be a hot one and Habibi is ready to dance. The two-track EP ‘Somewhere’ moves the unique four-piece’s sound into the escapism of disco/danceclub era New York City, an expansion upon their Detroit-bred garage roots.

    After being coined by the New Yorker as having “the Colgate white glisten of sixties girl group pop combined with an uncensored edge” for their acclaimed debut album, Habibi broke boundaries by introducing Farsi-sung tunes on their EP ‘Cardamom Garden’ that “shed rigid definitions of what constitutes American music” (Pitchfork). In 2020, a month before the world drastically changed, ‘Anywhere But Here’, the group’s prophetic sophomore album was released which led NPR’s Robin Hilton to call them a “noir girl-group.”

    For the first release with legendary Kill Rock Stars, Habibi knows it’s time to cut loose and take you to the dance floor, enlisting producer Mike Stroud from Ratatat and Heba Kadry as mastering engineer. Fans of the Tom Tom Club and ESG will find here plenty to love.

    HABIBI (Burger Records, 2013)

    1. Far From Right
    2. I Got The Moves
    3. Detroit Baby
    4. Sunsets
    5. Sweetest Talk
    6. She Comes Along
    7. Persepolis
    8. Let Me In
    9. Siin
    10. Tomboy
    11. Wrong To The Right People

    Recorded by Jay Heiselmann at Death By Audio, Winter 2012/2013. Vocals: Rahill Jamalifard. Guitar, Vocals: Lenny Lynch. Bass, Guitar: Erin Campbell. Guitar: Caroline Partamian. Drums: Karen Isabel

    CARDAMOM GARDEN (Modern Sky USA, 2018)

    1. Khodaya
    2. Gyspy Love
    3. Nedayeh Bahar
    4. Green Fuz

    All songs and lyrics written by Habibi except Green Fuz by Leslie Dale & Randy Alvey. All tracks recorded and mixed by Jay Heislemann in Brooklyn, NY. All tracks mastered by Heba Kadry at Timeless mastering in Brooklyn, NY. All instruments played by Erin Campbell, Karen Isabell, Leah Beth Fishman, Lenny Lynch, Rahill Jamalifard, and Yahya Alkhansa. All songs published by Songs of the Mothership/Burger Tunes (ASCAP), Music of the Mothership/Burger Hits (BMI), Except Green Fuz. Album art by Rahill Jamalifard and Bailey Robb. Graphic Design by Rahill Jamalifard and Wendy Waseige

    ANYWHERE BUT HERE (Muddguts, 2020)

    1. Angel Eyes
    2. Bad News
    3. Flowers
    4. Born Too Late
    5. Stronghold
    6. Dragging Me Down
    7. Mountain Song
    8. In The City
    9. Misunderstood
    10. Hate Everyone But You
    11. Come My Habibi

    Rahill Jamalifard – vox
    Lenny Lynch – guitar
    Leah Beth Fishman – bass
    Karen Isabel – drums

    So Many people made this record possible: Alex Epton, Matthew Trammel, Yahya Alkhansa, Mina Al Chokeil, Mark Cross n Lyla Vander, Wendy Waseige, Justus Kempthorne, Jay Heiselmann, Tyler Love, Academy Records crew, XL Recordings, Daro Behroozi, Kt, Micah, Tiger, Spooners, Wanda and Cynthia, Rachel Doe, Danny Goldshtein, Alana Amram, Saara Untracht Oakner and Chase Noelle, our parents, our friends, our fans… thank you”

    “A group for whom multicultural identity is a central concern, celebrating their lead singer’s Iranian roots, and cultivated a distinctly American surf-rock vibe.” – The New York Times

    “The band’s newest EP, Cardamom Garden, houses lyrics that move seamlessly between English and Farsi.” – NPR Weekend Edition

    “Cardamom has the rare ability to transcend culinary classification, adding a rounded depth to savory curries and roasts while also floating to the forefront of sugary desserts. The Brooklyn-based quintet Habibi’s new EP has a similar malleability: It’s full of music that blends cultures, languages, and genres, with charming and intriguing results, (…) shedding rigid definitions of what constitutes American music on the way to the band’s future.” – Pitchfork (6.8/10)

    “The group combines the Colgate-white glisten of sixties-girl-group pop with an uncensored edge; its songs are soft but savvy, preened for high-profile movie soundtracks and sitcoms.” – The New Yorker

    “Empowering. – Billboard

    “Habibi might have formed in New York, but the band’s roots are in Detroit — in more ways than one. Rahill Jamalifard and Lenny Lynch both from the Motor City, but the influence of Detroit’s middle eastern community and its history of girl group garage rock can be heard loud and clear in their music.” – NPR’s The Guestlist

    “Like the self-titled effort that precedes it, this three-track EP is full of charged-up garage rhythms and infectious hooks. But here, they interact with elements of Middle Eastern psych. The results are unexpected, exciting, and, as always, catchy as hell.” – i-D Magazine

    “There’s a million bands from Brooklyn—but only one that blends psych-rock riffs with girl group harmonies in lead singer Rahill Jamalifard’s native tongue, Farsi. Back with a third EP this March, Habibi is more polished than ever and focused on using their music to make a radical point.” – Interview Magazine

    “Being able to break new, more serious ground without losing any of the pop core that made the band so fun to begin with is the album’s key strength. Anywhere But Here not only has some of Habibi’s most adventurous songs, but also some of their best yet.” – All Music

    “New York-based rock band Habibi can make any show, even one in the last weeks of winter, feel like a humid summer day spent lounging around and eating good food with friends—the good shit.” – Chicago Reader

    “[Habibi] are back to remind the world why they’re still one of the city’s best home-grown groups.” – NME

    “[Love songs,] it’s what Habibi are so excellent at; after all, those ‘60s girl-group harmonies were, at the time, rarely used for anything other than love. That isn’t to say a love song can’t be political. To love in a wartorn time is an act of protest.” – Paste

    Management: W&, Wendy Waseige (Email)
    Publicist: W&, Wendy Waseige (Email)
    Booking (US): Crossover Touring, Rachel Doe (Email)
    Label: Kill Rock Stars
    Publishing: Mothership, Lionel Conway (Email)